Natural homemade deodorant

So, I’ve read on blogs in the past that people make their own deodorant out of ingredients from their kitchen cupboards, but I never got everything together until recently, and I am so glad I did.  I found this recipe on a blog after doing a simple google search for natural homemade deodorant, it was simple, had lots of glowing recommendations, and only needed 3 ingredients, 2 of which I already had, and one I picked up at our local grocery store.

Can I just say that it is the best deodorant ever.  Honestly, I’ve used Secret and Dove, and they all worked fine, but I’ve was always a bit uncomfortable using them because of the health issues linked with aluminum which is used in most deodorants to suppress perspiration.

I’ve tried the natural deodorants sold in Capers, Whole Foods or Organic Planet, but was always disappointed.  They didn’t work as well as the chemical ridden ones sold everywhere, plus they were very expensive.  I’ve tried a brand made by a local company, but didn’t have much luck with that one either.  I did buy one on ETSY, and while it totally worked, it was $11 USD when you include the cost of shipping, and I’m just not prepared to pay that much for deodorant.

So, I made my own.  I’ve been using it for about 2 weeks already, and it totally works.  The recipe is a little tweaked from the one I’ve linked to above, based on previous peoples comments and experiences.

For mine, I mixed together 4 tbsp baking soda, 4 tbsp cornstarch,  1 tbsp shea butter, a few drops of lavender essential oil, and 5-6 tbsp coconut oil.   I found the coconut oil in the health food section of our grocery store, and it was about $9 for 16 oz.  You can also use it in cooking, which I have yet to do, but will eventually get around to.

I mixed all the ingredients together and poured the mixture into an old deodorant container.  Apparently coconut oil is solid like shortening until the room temperature is 76 degrees, but mine melted before that, so I just keep the deodorant in the fridge.  It totally works.  Ask Eran, because I make him smell my armpits pretty much every night to see that it actually works as well as I think it does.  It’s not an antiperspirant, but hey, you’re supposed to sweat, it’s natural.

So if you’ve tried the natural deodorants and been disappointed, try this.

Edited to add – I’ve experienced a bit of a red itchy rash about 3 weeks in, which I was anticipating because of some of the comments on the original recipe post.  Apparently some people can have a reaction to the baking soda – it can be too harsh for some.

So, I made some changes, and now I’m going to try this recipe and see how I do:

I tbsp baking soda, 2 tbsp cornstarch, 2 tbsp coconut oil, 1 tbsp shea butter.

We’ll see how it goes!

8 responses to “Natural homemade deodorant

  1. I totally want to try this- I agree so scary what is in ‘regular’ deodorant and yet I have never found an natural solution that worked (I tried the crystal with no luck).
    So happy you reminded me to get this on my ‘to do’ list.

  2. Thought I was past the time for deodorants but after along cycle or hike, found out otherwise!!! Thus will write it down and try.xo
    (Lucky Eran!!)

  3. Very cool! Your baking soda shampoo worked like a hot darn too, btw. I used it for a long while and had great hair. Now if only there were a recipe for homemade hairspray, I’d be set!

    I heard a couple talking on CBC radio the other day about a movie they made chronicling their one year of not throwing anything out (recycling, reducing, composting and reusing, but no trashing). They too made deodorant and the guy said that the toothpaste and the deodorant they made from scratch are made out of exactly the same thing. It seemed like one of the least favourite parts of his one year experiment.

    I wish I could remember the name of the movie. If I do, I’ll let you know as it sounds right up our alley. It premiered in Vancouver about a month ago (one night only) and then they got on bikes and were going to premiere it all across the country in the coming days and weeks.

    • home made hairspray = use an empty spray bottle ( we used an empty ahirspray pump bottle i.e suave) mixed water and sugar. that easy… sometimes it gets sticky so u have to wipe the bottle or wash the nozzle under hot water. additionally if u spray it too close to your head (esp. if their are the lg beads of hairspray ) you could get the white flakes. so try not to hold it too close to your head… if it flakes just wet w / water or have a seperate spray bottle of only water… we did this all through high school and it worked fine.

      additionally u could do something w, egg whites that worked like a super gel… I never did this put it was what alot of people used to hold their mohawks back in the day.

  4. I almost forgot to mention…I’ve been making my own bodysugar (like wax, for hair removal) for years. Go to pioneerthinking.com for the recipe. It’s honey, white sugar and lemon juice. I have been washing and reusing the same strips from long ago store-bought kits for years. It’s so much cheaper than buying the ready made stuff and way cheaper than going to a spa or salon to have it done.

  5. I’m definitely going to try the deodorant Christine – I use coconut oil in cooking to replace butter and oil all the time (and honey in place of sugar where I can) it works awesome.

    I actually have a recipe for hairspray that I have yet to try that your friend might appreciate – just 1 cup H2O, 2-3 tsp white sugar, and 4-5 drops of essential oil. Combine in a spray bottle. Lightly spray on hair, let dry for 30 sec before adding next layer… worth a try!

  6. Here’s the movie I was telling you about. Well, it’s the filmmakers’ blog:

    http://cleanbinproject.com/

  7. found Christina’s body sugar recipe :
    http://www.pioneerthinking.com/bodysugaring.html

    I’ll have to try that! And thanks Lisa for the hairspray recipe!

Leave a Reply

