The new and strange world of blogging

I suppose I discovered the world of blogs while pregnant, or maybe it was after Sophie was born, I don’t remember.  It was mainly due to many hours sitting and feeding Sophie, or trying to be as quiet as possible while she slept on me, not wanting to disturb her.

catching some zzzzz's

I discovered the world of blogging, and often moved from one blog to another, getting questions about babies answered, reading how other mothers were dealing with their kids, or just reading about things that interested me, whether it was design, entertainment stuff, whatever.  I think I may have left a comment here and there, but by no means was I an active participant in other peoples blogs.  Sometimes you read the comments people leave, sometimes the bloggers blog about comments people have left.  But now that I’ve got my own blog, I’m seeing it from a totally different perspective.

I know my mom and Eran’s mom read the blog, and comment frequently, but they are the only ones (except for Katy – hi Katy!)  Maybe I’m just used to the interactive nature of Facebook, where people frequently comment on pictures and banter back and forth.   I know people visit the blog, because there is a stats page that keeps track of how many people visit your blog per day, but I have no idea who it is who comes to the blog, or where they are coming from.  They could be here by way of Facebook, or Twitter, or just stumble upon the blog while looking for something.

Why won't this kid stay asleep when I try to put her down?

One of the reasons I started this blog was because I want my family and friends in Ontario, to know what we’re up to.  It’s so hard with the time change and everyone’s life is so busy, but I want to keep some sort of connection (besides phone calls) with people back East, I thought this would be a fun way to do it – show pictures of Sophie, videos of what she has been doing, tell about things we’ve been up to, and basically just be able to keep in touch.

I guess what I’m saying is, it’s kind of weird not knowing who is here, reading what I’m writing.  Obviously I know that anybody can read this, it’s open to the public, and I’m putting it out there, but I guess I just wonder who comes by to read my words. Strangers?  Family?  Friends?

Anyways, it’s been on my mind lately.

Enough about that, here are some Sophie shots:

At our local park, the beautiful Burrard Inlet at Rocky Point Park.

Enjoying the gorgeous Spring-like February day.

7 responses to “The new and strange world of blogging

  1. I’m following with Google Reader! Love the pix – can’t believe how fast she’s growing up!

  2. I love her hair!!!!!!!!

  3. Hey lady! I wanted to let you know that I’ve just recently come across your blog, and have checked it out a couple of times. Fantastic! Sophie is soooo beautiful, and her mama is super, duper talented! Nice job on the kitchen! Chat later, take care! Robin

  4. I’m reading it and I love it!!!

  5. Just wanted to let you know I’m checking your blog too! It makes me feel closer to you guys!
    And I’ve read your posts in reverse order, so I thought I would tell you that the play kitchen kicks you know what! Wanna send one to Ontario??

  6. Just catching up. Love the photos. Good pensive thinking.

Leave a Reply

