My love for Etsy

Etsy is an amazing online marketplace, where ordinary people make and sell their extraordinary items.  If you’ve never been before, go here.   I have bought so many things from Etsy in the last 3 years, and every time I want to buy something, I always check to see if I can get it on Etsy.  There are thousands of sellers on Etsy, most working from their homes, many with full time jobs, families, busy lives of their own, and they sell on Etsy to supplement their income, to provide an outlet for their desire to make something, and if they’re lucky, to work at something they love.

There is a feature on Etsy called “Quit your day job” where they highlight Etsy sellers who have been so successful on Etsy, they have made the move, and their full time job is now their Etsy shop.  I’m always so inspired by those stories and the artwork and amazing craftsmanship I see on Etsy, I only wish more people knew about it, or were willing to buy from people who work really hard for their craft, and put their heart and soul into their work.

You can buy business cards, source out graphic design work, buy stuffed dolls, jewelry, clothing, knit items, vintage supplies, papercrafts, artwork, wooden docking stations for you ipod, the list is really endless, and it can be overwhelming if you don’t narrow down your search, but it is incredible at what you can find on Etsy.  Here are some of my past and present favourites:

Handmade woodland bookends - how cute?

Link here.

Beautiful watercolour map

Etsy link here.

Beautiful pottery

Etsy shop link here.

Unique and personalized jewelry

Etsy link here.

Since my love for Etsy began, I have bought pottery (have you ever seen an “Eran” mug?  Neither have I, but Etsy can make it happen – here), jewelry, supplies for my own Etsy shop (fabric, zippers, ribbon, trim, business cards, logo design, labels), little fabric pouches, knitting patterns, digital art prints, photography prints, wine bottle etched drinking glasses (link here), natural deodorant (yes, you can buy deodorant on Etsy!), alphabet stencils, a steel dry erase memo board (link here) and so many other things.

If you take away anything from this post, I really encourage you to check out Etsy.  You can buy almost anything there, and most things are amazing quality, made by good people who stand behind the product they make.  Before you buy, just make sure you check the seller’s feedback, where buyers can comments on the quality of the goods, and the service they received. If you haven’t already, check out my shop, and some of my friends, here and here.

Why buy from giant big box retailers, where everyone has the same thing, when you can buy from independent people who really care about what they are making and have a passion for it.  Support the individuals who work really hard.  Of course, I am one of those people, so I’m obviously biased, but I’ve just been amazed by the quality of the products I’ve received, as well as the kindness of the buyers I have bought from.  When you’re in it for yourself, you really want your product to be the best – to stand out, and you work really hard.  No where is this more evident than on Etsy, so go there, look for something, and support a person, rather than a corporation.

I’m really curious to see what you’ve bought from Etsy, so let me know, and if you haven’t bought something from there before, get your Etsy account, get a PayPal account, and start shopping.

One response to “My love for Etsy

  1. Need to look into this more, all the ideas look super. Better source for gifts. xo

Leave a Reply

